Skip to content

Who Makes Major HVAC Brands? A Verified U.S. Guide

Published by Trusted Heating & Air Conditioning, a TDLR-licensed air conditioning and refrigeration contractor (license TACLA152199C, active through June 2027).

Six parent companies control most of the AC and furnace brands you’ll see on North Texas quotes: Trane Technologies (Trane, American Standard, RunTru), Carrier Global (Carrier, Bryant, Payne, Heil, Tempstar), Daikin (Goodman, Amana), Lennox (Armstrong Air, Ducane), Bosch (York, Coleman, Luxaire), and Rheem (Ruud). Owning the name isn’t the same thing as building the unit, and the company backing the warranty isn’t always the one that built the equipment. This guide grades the actual paperwork for 58 brands, so when a sales pitch says two quotes are the same unit with different badges, you’ll know whether the records back that up.

Answered 24/7Real person
McKinneyOwner-operated
TDLR LicensedTACLA152199C
Trusted Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC BBB Business Review
Upfront pricingNo pressure, ever

Every brand record here answers five separate questions:

  • Who controls the HVAC business today
  • Whether the name on the cabinet is a licensed trademark
  • Who’s expressly named as the manufacturer
  • Who backs the written warranty (the warrantor named in the paperwork)
  • What the records actually show about related equipment

Where the primary sources we reviewed don’t prove something, the record says so instead of guessing.

When two quotes land on your kitchen table, “these brands are related” can mean five different things:

  • The manufacturer’s own paperwork maps both badges to one product designation
  • The company says both families are built on one named platform
  • The two models just show up in the same documents
  • We spotted a likely counterpart ourselves, and we label it as our inference
  • Nothing connects them but a shared parent company

Those are five different levels of proof. The tables below tell you which one you’re looking at.

What brands and equipment does this guide cover?

Ground rules first, so if a brand’s missing from these tables you know why instead of wondering.

  • What’s in: U.S.-market residential central air conditioners, air-source heat pumps, furnaces, coils, air handlers, and ordinary residential packaged units, wherever the brand’s own current product pages or portfolio listings back the row.
  • Which brands: national and regional names we could verify through a current manufacturer portfolio, a current central-system catalog, a current warranty document, or our verified ownership research.
  • The mini-split edge case: a brand known for ductless gear earns a row once it markets a true whole-home central-ducted system, like Midea EVOX, GREE FLEXX, or Ecoer’s central-ducted equipment. A multi-zone ductless family stays out even when one optional indoor unit can connect to ducts.
  • What’s out: ductless and multi-zone mini-splits, geothermal systems, manufactured-housing-only products, vertical through-the-wall units, PTAC/PTHP units (the hotel-room style), and commercial-only equipment.
  • Older names: a legacy brand appears only when we can document current central equipment or a current warranty or support relationship. A badge you remember from decades back doesn’t earn a row by itself.
  • Private labels: ACiQ, MRCOOL, Blueridge, and sellers like them get their own records. Where we couldn’t verify one manufacturer behind the whole catalog, the record says “not established.” That means we couldn’t prove it, which is different from proving several factories are involved.

This is a verified major-brand research resource still pending human signoff, not a claim that we’ve found every regional label sold in every U.S. market. Version 2.3.2 holds individual records for 58 consumer brands. The machine-readable brand relationship dataset states each record’s inclusion status, source, and evidence limit.

How were major ducted edge brands evaluated?

Brands better known for mini-splits or electronics got the same test as everyone else: show us a current page on the brand’s own U.S. site selling a whole-home or central ducted product. All four named Round 2 candidates passed.

How were major ducted edge brands evaluated?
Brand Inclusion decision Evidence and boundary
Mitsubishi Electric Included The U.S. site calls its multi-position air handlers whole-home ducted solutions that use existing ductwork. Ducted solutions Ductless wall units remain outside this guide.
LG Included LG presents multi-position air handlers and A-coils for ducted homes, and its February 2026 release describes a North American residential unitary lineup. Residential systems 2026 release
Samsung Included Samsung markets Hylex as a whole-home system that can work with existing HVAC equipment. Whole-home systems Multi-zone and wall-mounted ductless products remain excluded.
TOSOT Included TOSOT Comfort lists NOVA and UNIX central-ducted air handlers and condensers, and identifies itself as the U.S. master distributor. TOSOT Comfort

Who controls, manufactures, or warrants each HVAC brand?

Read these tables all the way across, the same way you’d read a quote. The name in the first column tells you who owns the brand, and that’s all it tells you. Who built the unit and who’s on the hook for the warranty are separate columns for a reason. And “not established” doesn’t mean no. It means the paperwork we checked didn’t prove it, one way or the other.

Trane Technologies brands

Trane Technologies central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
Trane Trane Technologies lists Trane in its portfolio. Portfolio No separate license identified in the reviewed source. Not established by the cited portfolio or UL record. Current exact-model warranty not reviewed for this record. Trane U.S. Inc. is the certification holder in UL file SA11679. 5TTV8X is assessed below as a possible counterpart candidate to American Standard 5A7V8X. This is a publisher inference.
American Standard Trane Technologies lists American Standard in its portfolio. Portfolio No separate license identified in the reviewed source. Not established by the cited portfolio or UL record. Current exact-model warranty not reviewed for this record. Trane U.S. Inc. is the certification holder in UL file SA11679. 5A7V8X is assessed below as a possible counterpart candidate to Trane 5TTV8X. This is a publisher inference.
RunTru Trane Technologies lists RunTru in its portfolio. Portfolio Marketed as RunTru by Trane in the cited product data. Physical manufacturer not established by the cited product-data record. Not established for the exact quote. Trane U.S. Inc. issued a record that maps a common A5AC product designation to RunTru and Ameristar. ODR-PSD033B-EN
Ameristar Trane Technologies lists Ameristar in its portfolio. Portfolio Marketed as Ameristar by American Standard in the cited product data. Physical manufacturer not established by the cited product-data record. Not established for the exact quote. Trane U.S. Inc. issued a record that maps a common A5AC product designation to RunTru and Ameristar. ODR-PSD033B-EN
Oxbox Trane Technologies lists Oxbox in its portfolio. Portfolio Not established. Not established for the current catalog. Not established for the exact quote. Ownership only. No Oxbox-to-Trane platform claim is made.

Carrier and ICP brands

Carrier Global’s current portfolio lists Carrier, Bryant, Payne, AirQuest, Arcoaire, Comfortmaker, Day & Night, Heil, KeepRite, and Tempstar. Carrier brand portfolio That list proves who owns the brands. It doesn’t prove today’s catalogs map to each other model for model.

There is a separate February 2012 ICP technical record documenting the historical (C,H,T)CA9 architecture across named ICP badge codes. That’s solid evidence for what those brands shared on that dated record. It says nothing about the 2026 lineups.

Carrier and ICP central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
Carrier Carrier Global portfolio Not separately identified Not established for the whole catalog by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current exact-model sister relationship not established in this review
Bryant Carrier Global portfolio Not separately identified Not established for the whole catalog by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current Carrier-to-Bryant equivalence not established in this review
Payne Carrier Global portfolio Not separately identified Not established for the whole catalog by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. No equipment tier or sister-model conclusion is made
Heil Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. A February 2012 ICP record is historical evidence only, not a 2026 model map
Tempstar Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
Comfortmaker Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
Arcoaire Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
Day & Night Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
AirQuest Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
KeepRite Carrier Global, through the ICP portfolio Not separately identified Not established for current 2026 models by the portfolio source Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Historical 2012 ICP common architecture only
GrandAire Corporate ownership of the mark was not established in the reviewed warranty Private-label relationship stated in the warranty ICP expressly calls itself a manufacturer of the covered GrandAire private-label products. GrandAire warranty ICP is the warrantor for the covered models in that document Manufacturer and warrantor relationship confirmed for covered products; exact ICP sister model not established

Carrier’s Consumer Choice program is a good example of why warranty gets its own column in these tables. On eligible residential equipment, timely registration through a participating dealer may allow a choice between 10-year parts-only coverage and 5-year parts plus 3-year labor coverage, subject to Carrier’s stated conditions. Carrier Consumer Choice, accessed July 11, 2026 Same equipment question, completely different warranty answer depending on registration.

Daikin, Lennox, and Allied Air brands

Daikin, Lennox, and Allied Air central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
Daikin Daikin Comfort Technologies Daikin brand Daikin Comfort Technologies Manufacturing is named for listed recalled packaged units. Recall Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Recall evidence does not establish a one-to-one sister model
Goodman Daikin Comfort Technologies organization notice Goodman brand Daikin Comfort Technologies Manufacturing is named for listed recalled Goodman units. Recall Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. No portfolio-wide Goodman-to-Amana equivalence established
Amana HVAC Daikin Comfort Technologies organization notice Amana is used under license for HVAC Daikin Comfort Technologies Manufacturing is named for listed recalled Amana units. Recall Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Shared recall population is manufacturer evidence, not a rebadge map
Lennox Lennox International 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established for the whole catalog by the filing. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. No catalog-wide Lennox-to-Allied Air equivalence established.
Armstrong Air Lennox portfolio through Allied Air 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established by the portfolio or launch records. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Allied Air issues named product-family releases, but every model is not assumed equivalent.
AirEase Lennox portfolio through Allied Air 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established by the portfolio or launch records. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Common named families with Armstrong Air require exact-family confirmation.
Concord Lennox portfolio through Allied Air 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established by the platform announcement. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Allied Air expressly names a common 97G2E/97G2V furnace platform with Ducane.
Ducane Lennox portfolio through Allied Air 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established by the platform announcement. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Allied Air expressly names a common 97G2E/97G2V furnace platform with Concord.
ADP Lennox reports ADP as a business 2024 filing Not separately identified Physical manufacturer not established by the filing. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. The filing identifies ADP as an indoor-component business. An ADP coil is not proof of a complete Lennox sister system; the active AHRI match controls.

Bosch and the licensed York operating business

Bosch completed the Johnson Controls residential and light-commercial HVAC acquisition on July 31, 2025. Notice what happened to the York name: the trademark stays a Johnson Controls mark, used under long-term license by the operating business Bosch acquired. Bosch transaction Q&A Bosch York brand page Bosch’s current branded-sites disclosure is what connects Guardian, Fraser-Johnston, and Evcon to that acquired operating business. Bosch branded sites

Bosch and acquired-business central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
Bosch Bosch Home Comfort Bosch brand Exact model record controls Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Bosch ownership does not establish a York platform relationship
York Bosch controls the acquired residential/light-commercial operating business Johnson Controls trademark used under long-term license Not established for the whole catalog by the transaction record Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. A 2018 York-lineage user-information record covers named models together. Co-documentation does not establish identical parts, current equivalence, or a Bosch rebadge.
Coleman Bosch controls the acquired operating business License status not resolved in this review Not established for the whole catalog by the transaction record Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Common historical ducted documentation is not parts evidence
Luxaire Bosch acquired-business brand site License status not resolved Not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Common documentation only where the exact record names the model
Champion Bosch acquired-business brand site License status not resolved Not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Common documentation only where the exact record names the model
Guardian Connected to the acquired business through Bosch’s branded-site records License status not resolved Not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Equipment relationship unverified without exact technical records
Fraser-Johnston Connected to the acquired business through Bosch’s branded-site records License status not resolved Not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Equipment relationship unverified without exact technical records
Evcon Connected to the acquired business through Bosch’s branded-site records License status not resolved Physical manufacturer not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Evcon currently lists ordinary residential central air conditioners, heat pumps, furnaces, air handlers, coils, and packaged equipment. Residential equipment No York-family sister model is inferred.

Paloma Rheem Holdings, Rheem, GENERAL, and Nordyne brands

Paloma Rheem Holdings Co., Ltd. is the current group holding company; Rheem Manufacturing is an operating subsidiary. Paloma holding-company notice, March 29, 2024

Rheem and Nordyne central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
Rheem Paloma Rheem Holdings; Rheem Manufacturing operates the brand Rheem brand Physical manufacturer not established by the cited consumer/BIM record. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. RA15AY36AJ1NA has strong common-family evidence with the Ruud model of the same code, assessed below.
Ruud Paloma Rheem Holdings; Rheem Manufacturing brand family Ruud brand Physical manufacturer not established by the cited consumer/BIM record. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Same-code RA15AY36AJ1NA records support a common-family assessment, not confirmed rebadge status.
WeatherKing Rheem family Rheem company information Not separately resolved Not established for current catalog in this review Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Equipment relationship unverified by exact model
Sure Comfort Rheem family Rheem company information Not separately resolved Not established for current catalog in this review Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Equipment relationship unverified by exact model
Durastar Control of the mark not established in the reviewed warranty Private-label context Rheem Sales Company expressly identifies itself as manufacturer of covered residential split products. Durastar warranty Rheem Sales Company is the warranty-facing entity in the covered document Manufacturer relationship confirmed for covered products; no exact Rheem/Ruud sister model established
GENERAL, formerly Fujitsu General Paloma Rheem became the sole shareholder when its acquisition of Fujitsu General was completed August 22, 2025. Completion notice Current corporate overview The company name changed to GENERAL Inc. on January 1, 2026; the U.S. transition from Fujitsu branding is still product- and document-specific. Rename notice Physical manufacturer of the current U.S. central catalog not established by these corporate records Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current U.S. first-party pages list central air conditioners and packaged equipment. Central air conditioners Packaged equipment The acquisition does not establish a Rheem or Ruud platform, shared factory, or shared parts.
Maytag HVAC Nordyne operating portfolio within Rheem Maytag HVAC name is used under license. Maytag statement Nordyne says it manufactures heating and cooling equipment under its listed brands. Nordyne Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Rheem’s acquisition does not itself establish a Rheem/Ruud platform relationship
Frigidaire HVAC Nordyne operating portfolio within Rheem License details not resolved Nordyne says it manufactures equipment under the listed brand. Nordyne Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. No exact sister model established
Gibson Nordyne operating portfolio within Rheem License details not resolved Nordyne says it manufactures equipment under the listed brand. Nordyne Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. No exact sister model established
Airtemp Owner/controller of the current HVAC operating business is not established. R.E. Michel is the exclusive marketer. Legal information Airtemp trademarks are owned by Michel-Airtemp LLC Physical manufacturer of the current catalog is not established The reviewed 2018 form names Nortek Global HVAC as legal obligor for equipment within that form’s date scope; the 2012 form names NORDYNE LLC only as a warranty contact. The exact current warrantor is not established. Warranty index 2012 form 2018 form Historical warranty administration does not prove that every current Airtemp model is Nordyne-built or maps to another Nordyne badge

Independent, direct, regional, and seller brands

Other verified central HVAC brand records
Consumer brand Owner or controller Trademark or license Expressly named manufacturer Warrantor Equipment evidence
GREE Owner/controller not established; GREE Comfort presents the U.S. central line Separate trademark holder or license relationship not established The current central-system page identifies GREE products; physical factory per model is not stated Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. FLEXX is a GREE central-system family. GREE central systems
Mitsubishi Electric Owner/controller not established by the cited product page; Mitsubishi Electric Trane HVAC US presents the current U.S. systems The complete trademark arrangement was not established in this review Physical manufacturer of each current model not established by the cited consumer page Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current multi-position air handlers are presented as whole-home ducted solutions using existing ductwork. Ducted solutions No Trane sister-platform inference is made.
LG Owner/controller not established by the cited product pages; LG Electronics USA presents the residential HVAC portfolio Separate trademark holder or license relationship not established Physical manufacturer of each U.S. unitary model not established by the cited pages Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current U.S. pages show ducted air handlers and A-coils; a 2026 LG release describes a North American residential unitary lineup. Residential systems 2026 release
Samsung Owner/controller not established by the cited product page; Samsung HVAC presents the U.S. systems Separate trademark holder or license relationship not established Physical manufacturer of each whole-home model not established by the cited page Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Hylex is marketed as a whole-home system compatible with existing HVAC equipment. Whole-home system No conventional sister-brand relationship is established.
TOSOT Owner/controller not established; TOSOT Comfort identifies itself as U.S. master distributor TOSOT states the brand is owned and products are manufactured by GREE GREE, for the TOSOT products within the cited statement’s scope Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. NOVA and UNIX central-ducted systems qualify. TOSOT Comfort About No exact GREE-badged sister model is established.
Midea Owner/controller not established by the cited product pages; the U.S. comfort site presents Midea products Separate trademark holder or license relationship not established Physical manufacturer not established by the cited product pages. Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Midea presents the current EVOX G3 central-ducted family. Midea EVOX 2025 leaflet
Napoleon Current legal owner/controller of the U.S. HVAC operating business is not established by the reviewed corporate-history page, which connects Napoleon with the Wolf Steel family business. Company page Separate trademark holder or license relationship not established Physical manufacturer of every central model not established by the company overview Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current U.S. central HVAC and central heat-pump pages establish ordinary ducted products. U.S. HVAC products Central heat pumps
GE Appliances HVAC GE Appliances is a Haier company. Company contact page GE trademark used under license Physical manufacturer for the whole ducted catalog not established Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current residential ducted products verified. GE ducted HVAC
Comfort-Aire Owner/controller not established; MARS Equipment Division offers the brand in the U.S. MARS company information Trademark details not resolved Physical manufacturer not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current residential central categories are visible in the Comfort-Aire equipment catalog; no Century equivalence claim is made without a named common record
Century Owner/controller not established; MARS Equipment Division offers the brand in the U.S. MARS company information Trademark details not resolved Physical manufacturer not established for the whole catalog Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current Century residential air handlers verify ordinary central equipment; no Comfort-Aire equivalence claim is made without a named common record
Thermal Zone Active brand site markets central AC, heat pumps, furnaces, air handlers/coils, and residential packaged units. Thermal Zone Owner and trademark holder not established in reviewed source Physical manufacturer not established Thermal Zone is the warranty-facing brand; legal warrantor entity is not identified on the reviewed page. Warranty Exact OEM and sister-brand relationship unverified
Ecoer Ecoer presents itself as the controlling business Ecoer brand Ecoer expressly describes itself as an HVAC manufacturer. Ecoer about page Not established in this directory; verify the warranty card for the exact model. Current residential central-ducted heat-pump and AC products verified; no sister-brand claim
ACiQ Owner/controller not established; ACiQ presents a current residential central heating and cooling catalog. Central products Legal owner and trademark holder not established in the reviewed pages One portfolio-wide physical manufacturer not established Legal warrantor not established. In the cited process, ACiQ receives paperwork, reviews claims, and ships approved replacement parts. Warranty information Current central products verified; physical manufacturer and sister-brand relationships remain model-specific
MRCOOL Owner/controller not established in the reviewed source Trademark holder or license relationship not established One portfolio-wide physical manufacturer not established Legal warrantor not established. MRCOOL publishes warranty coverage, registration requirements, support, and a claims process. Warranty overview Warranty differences by family do not prove multiple factories
Blueridge Current seller product records establish residential central equipment availability Trademark holder not established One portfolio-wide physical manufacturer not established Blue Summit LLC is expressly named as warrantor for covered Blueridge unitary equipment. Blueridge warranty, Version 2.2, July 2024 Current central products and warrantor verified; physical manufacturer and sister-brand relationships remain model-specific

What evidence is strong enough for an equipment relationship?

When a salesperson tells you two brands are “the same unit,” the right question is what paperwork backs that up. The categories below are our own yardstick for that, not a system AHRI, UL, or the manufacturers use. Each definition spells out how much weight a claim carries and what kind of record would move it up a level.

What evidence is strong enough for an equipment relationship?
Editorial category Minimum evidence threshold Evidence that cannot reach the category by itself
Issuer-mapped common product designation A dated product record from the brand owner, controller, or expressly named manufacturer assigns both brands to the same covered model designation, capacity set, and revision The mapping does not identify the physical manufacturer unless the record expressly does so. Ownership, similar ratings, a recall, AHRI certificate, or UL co-listing cannot establish the designation alone
Company-stated common named platform A dated statement from the brand owner, controller, or operating product business expressly says both named families use one named platform The statement does not identify the physical manufacturer or identical parts unless it expressly says so. Shared ownership or a shared user manual cannot establish the platform alone
Co-documented models One current record names both models, but does not map them or identify common assemblies Co-documentation never proves parts identity by itself
Publisher-inferred counterpart candidate Separate current records show a parallel model pattern plus several enumerated matching attributes; every known difference and unverified major assembly is disclosed The assessment may nominate a comparison, but it cannot be called manufacturer-confirmed
Confirmed rebadge An explicit manufacturer cross-reference says the exact models are relabeled versions of one product. Parts/service records may corroborate the statement. Matching parts, dimensions, certification, ownership, or appearance without the explicit cross-reference
Unverified The reviewed sources do not clear a stronger threshold Absence of evidence is not evidence that products differ

Not all paper is worth the same. Here’s the pecking order we used, strongest first:

  1. Legal or regulatory records, for ownership and licensing
  2. Dated transaction filings
  3. Exact manufacturer technical records
  4. Legal warranty documents
  5. UL, AHRI, or CPSC records, for the narrow fact each one certifies
  6. Current portfolio pages
  7. Marketing pages, last

For model facts you usually can’t avoid the manufacturer’s own documents. Just remember what they are: the company talking about itself. They aren’t independent corroboration, and they can go stale.

For a residential split system, an active AHRI certificate proves one thing: the rated performance of that exact indoor/outdoor pairing. It doesn’t list the parts inside, and it doesn’t prove two sister brands are the same machine. Get the certificate and staple it to the quote. AHRI certification

What do the strongest verified model records show?

Four model records cleared the higher evidence bars. Here’s each one, with exactly what the paper does and doesn’t prove.

Trane 5TTV8X and American Standard 5A7V8X

Classification: Publisher-inferred counterpart candidates for quote comparison. The manufacturer has not been shown here to cross-reference the families as the same product.

Evidence card

Trane 5TTV8X and American Standard 5A7V8X
Field Record
Models Trane 5TTV8X and American Standard 5A7V8X; exact capacity and suffix must match the quote
Equipment type Residential variable-speed R-454B central air-conditioner families
Source records UL file SA11679; current Trane Premier 18 page; current American Standard Platinum 18 page
Publication/revision Consumer pages show no stable revision date; accessed July 11, 2026. UL file accessed July 11, 2026
Evidence that matches Same corporate portfolio and certification holder; parallel model pattern; same product class; R-454B; nominal 2-to-5-ton range
Documented difference Published cabinet dimensions differ. Trane lists 41-inch height with 30-by-33 or 34-by-37-inch footprints; American Standard lists 46-inch height with 30-by-33 or 35-by-38-inch footprints, depending on capacity
Parts verified as shared None from the public records reviewed
Still unverified Compressor, coil, fan motor, control board, programming, sensors, complete warranty, factory, and production line
Publisher inference The parallel naming and matched high-level attributes make these reasonable candidate counterparts to investigate. The reviewed records do not establish an exact rebadge or equal reliability

Trane product page American Standard product page UL SA11679

The same UL file also lists Trane 5TWV8X, 5TTV0X, and 5TWV0X families and American Standard 5A6V8X, 5A7V0X, and 5A6V0X families under Trane U.S. Inc. Those families are co-listed only in this resource. The UL record does not pair them or establish shared parts.

RunTru and Ameristar A5AC

Classification: Issuer-mapped common product designation for covered A5AC models.

RunTru and Ameristar A5AC
Field Record
Models A5AC models covered by ODR-PSD033B-EN; compare complete capacity, suffix, and revision
Equipment type Residential split-system air conditioner
Source Trane Product Data, ODR-PSD033B-EN, revision B, September 2025; accessed July 11, 2026
Manufacturer statement The brand code applies to “RunTru by Trane / Ameristar by American Standard”
Parts verified as identical None in this review
Known differences Brand/channel presentation; exact warranty and proposal scope were not compared
Limit The record does not establish A5HP, A5AH, premium Trane equivalence, or identical parts across revisions

RunTru and Ameristar A5AC product data

Rheem and Ruud RA15AY36AJ1NA

Classification: Publisher assessment of strong common-family evidence, not a confirmed rebadge.

Rheem and Ruud RA15AY36AJ1NA
Field Record
Models Rheem RA15AY36AJ1NA and Ruud RA15AY36AJ1NA
Equipment type Three-ton, 208/230-volt, one-phase, 60-hertz residential central air conditioner
Source records Rheem and Ruud manufacturer-hosted residential BIM/model records; accessed July 11, 2026
Published matches Same model code, nominal capacity, voltage/phase, R-454B, single-stage scroll compressor description, sound value, weight, 7 mm coil description, dimensions, and 10-year conditional-parts positioning
Published differences Consumer series and brand presentation; exact warranty certificates were not compared here
Parts verified as identical No service-part cross-reference was reviewed
Publisher inference The same exact code and matching published fields provide strong common-family evidence. They do not prove every part, programming revision, factory route, or ownership experience is identical

Rheem RA15AY36AJ1NA Rheem BIM record Ruud RA15AY model family

Concord and Ducane 97G2E and 97G2V

Classification: Company-stated common named platform.

Concord and Ducane 97G2E and 97G2V
Field Record
Models Concord and Ducane 97G2E and 97G2V furnace families
Equipment type 97% AFUE two-stage gas furnaces
Source Allied Air announcement, June 26, 2024; accessed July 11, 2026
Manufacturer statement Allied Air says the Concord and Ducane models are built on its current furnace platform
Parts verified as identical None in this review
Known differences Exact suffix, control, warranty, later production revision, and dealer terms were not compared
Limit “Current” describes the platform at the source’s June 2024 publication date. Unrelated tax-credit language on that page is historical and is not used here

Allied Air 97G2E and 97G2V announcement

How similar have Trane and American Standard been over time?

Trane and American Standard is the pair we get asked about most, so it gets its own dated table. Yes, the two have documented stretches of shared product architecture and shared manufacturing. But watch what each piece of paper actually proves. Same parent company doesn’t mean same plant. Same plant doesn’t mean the units came down the same assembly line. And a shared platform doesn’t mean every model carries the same parts list.

The historical evidence codes below have fixed meanings:

  • company_stated_platform is a company claim reported for a bounded platform.
  • government_acceptance is a government equipment acceptance.
  • regulatory_recall is a regulator’s bounded recall record.
  • factory_statement addresses a named plant and period.
  • unverified_third_party_account preserves an outside claim without adopting it.
  • bounded_negative_review records what an enumerated source set did not establish.
Dated Trane and American Standard relationship evidence
Date and evidence What the record establishes Evidence class Limit
September 2001 platform, reported in 2003 American Standard Companies’ Residential Systems business described one redesigned outdoor cooling-and-heating platform serving both Trane and American Standard. Platform report company_stated_platform No model-by-model parts list or pair map
2005 New York City acceptance NYC MEA 26-05-E names Trane as manufacturer and American Standard as the trade name for the accepted R-22 condensing-unit family. MEA 26-05-E government_acceptance No assembly-line assignment or complete bill of materials
2010 to 2014 production recall CPSC names Trane U.S. Inc. as manufacturer for 37 Trane XB300 and American Standard Silver SI models with common cabinet descriptions and the same grounding-screw hazard. CPSC recall 14-737 regulatory_recall Shared defect population does not create a complete pair map
2016 furnace recall The CPSC table places Trane TDC1B060A9361AE and American Standard ADC1B060A9361AE in one row, and the two 080 models in another row. In each row, the model characters are identical after the initial brand letter. CPSC recall 17-709 regulatory_recall CPSC does not call the row-aligned models counterparts or equivalent complete furnaces
2016 and 2019 Tyler records Trane said its Tyler plant produced systems for both brands in 2016; a 2019 facility report again described Trane and American Standard products as manufactured in Tyler. Trane plant statement 2019 facility report factory_statement Neither record assigns named models from both brands to one line
2024 to 2025 packaged-unit sales CPSC lists the same five 4YCZ model numbers under either Trane or American Standard and names Trane U.S. Inc. as manufacturer: 4YCZ5024F1060A, 4YCZ5036F1070A, 4YCZ5036F1090A, 4YCZ5048E1090A, and 4YCZ5048E1115A. CPSC recall 25-369 regulatory_recall The record does not say that the badge was the only possible production or channel difference
Unverified third-party account Some HVAC dealer websites claim on undated pages that they saw both brands come down the same assembly line during factory visits, with color and nameplate as the only differences. “Same unit until the badge goes on at the end of the line” has long been the commonly held assumption for this pair in the trade. unverified_third_party_account These are dealer accounts with a commercial angle and no evidence trail: no tour date, factory line, model scope, bill of materials, or manufacturer confirmation. This article treats them as hearsay and does not adopt the claim

Safety first: if you own or are offered one of the five 4YCZ models, check the serial range in the CPSC recall. CPSC says consumers with affected serials should immediately stop using heating mode and contact the dealer who installed the unit for a free inspection and ignition-board repair.

After the recall remedy is completed, a homeowner comparing a unit within the CPSC-listed model and serial population can treat that bounded record as one manufacturer model sold under either consumer name, then compare controls, registration terms, labor coverage, dealer support, installation scope, and price.

What the history doesn’t support is the universal claim you’ll hear in sales pitches: that every Trane and every American Standard unit has the same internals with only paint, cabinet style, or badge differences. Model numbers, capacity, the model-number suffix, serial range, AHRI match, parts records, and warranty documents still control the comparison sitting in front of you.

Do different HVAC brands use the same components?

Plenty of them buy compressors, motors, valves, controls, and service parts from the same specialist suppliers. That overlap can make repairs easier down the road, but it doesn’t make two complete systems equivalent. The exact component model, the OEM programming (the settings the original equipment manufacturer loads at the factory), capacity, refrigerant, serial range, and approved replacement path all matter.

Who supplies the compressors?

Copeland says no compressor manufacturer has supplied more products to the North American residential and commercial unitary ducted market, and it reports more than 200 million Copeland scroll installations worldwide. Copeland heat-pump compression Copeland scroll portfolio “Unitary ducted” is industry shorthand for factory-built central systems, the same category of equipment this guide covers. Keep in mind those are Copeland’s own statements about Copeland. They do not provide an independently verified current U.S. residential share above 50 percent, and this review found no public, authoritative count of the whole market that would prove Copeland makes most compressors used in U.S. residential central HVAC.

Copeland isn’t the only big compressor platform, either. LG publishes fixed- and variable-speed rotary products for U.S. unitary applications, while GMCC documents a large global household-air-conditioning compressor business. LG U.S. unitary compressor catalog GMCC supplier history Those supplier-capability records do not identify a competing U.S. central-HVAC brand that uses each compressor or establish U.S. conventional-central market share.

What does the component evidence actually prove?

The component evidence codes have fixed meanings:

  • factory_or_model_scoped links a component to named equipment.
  • oem_service_interchange is an authorized service mapping.
  • catalog proves channel availability.
  • universal_replacement proves replacement breadth.
  • supplier_capability shows what a supplier offers without naming an OEM application.
  • historical_supplier_structure records a dated supplier venture.
  • bounded_negative_review records what an enumerated source set did not establish.
Bounded HVAC component-supplier evidence and homeowner meaning
Component and bounded example Evidence class What the source establishes Why a homeowner cares
Goodman GLXT7C and Daikin DZ7TC name Copeland UltraTech compressor platforms. Goodman GLXT7C Daikin DZ7TC factory_or_model_scoped Named current families use a Copeland platform The exact compressor part can still vary by capacity or revision; shared supplier does not prove shared coils, controls, or system quality
Trane says its current outdoor units use the Trane-exclusive Climatuff compressor brand. Trane Climatuff factory_or_model_scoped Trane specifies its own compressor brand for the cited scope The page does not identify the legal factory or map a current Climatuff part to another supplier
Lennox kit 611297-17 supports named GE ECM 2.3, Regal Beloit ECM 2.3, and Genteq EON ECM 5.0 motor generations in bounded Lennox families. Lennox motor-module kit oem_service_interchange An authorized kit crosses named motor/module generations Horsepower, module programming, harness, blower wheel, and airflow tables can still differ
Daikin/Goodman service instructions for DM92SN, DM96SN, and DC96SN name White-Rodgers 36G54/36J54 gas valves. Daikin service instructions factory_or_model_scoped Named furnace families have an OEM service procedure for White-Rodgers valves The procedure does not prove one valve revision was installed in every serial number
Lennox cross-references White-Rodgers 50A65-843 to exact Lennox furnace-control part numbers. Lennox control cross-reference universal_replacement A White-Rodgers integrated ignition control is an approved service option for the cited Lennox part numbers A universal board may use adapters or setup choices and does not prove White-Rodgers made every original board
CPSC’s 2014 White-Rodgers recall covers one 1F8x-04xx thermostat family sold with several HVAC-brand names. CPSC recall 14-166 factory_or_model_scoped A bounded thermostat family was private-labeled across brands A shared wall control says nothing about who made the connected furnace or outdoor unit
Carrier lists current ecobee-for-Carrier thermostat models, while Carrier separately reserves its Infinity control for its communicating system. Carrier thermostats Carrier thermostat FAQ factory_or_model_scoped Carrier offers specific co-branded conventional controls A generic thermostat may turn equipment on while losing modulation, diagnostics, zoning, or communicating features
Lennox parts catalogs list exact Emerson Chatleff, Danfoss, and Sanhua TXVs. Lennox parts catalog catalog Named TXV suppliers are present in Lennox’s service channel A stocked part is not proof of original factory installation
Lennox maps part 69018 to a Sporlan filter-drier. Sporlan mapping oem_service_interchange One Lennox service part has an exact supplier mapping The public page does not identify original fit in every compatible model
Lennox maps service part 42J3201 to a Hartland Controls 120-to-24-volt, 40-VA transformer. Lennox transformer oem_service_interchange One electrical service part has an exact supplier mapping Matching voltage or amp rating alone is not full component equivalence
Trane Supply markets universal ECM alternatives and distinguishes them from exact OEM fit and OEM-designed performance. Trane universal ECM brochure universal_replacement A programmable service option can replace multiple OEM applications A universal motor still needs correct setup and is not evidence of the original factory motor
Sensata markets R-32 and R-454B A2L sensors for HVAC OEM integration. Sensata MGD Sensata RGD supplier_capability Sensata can supply A2L sensor platforms The cited Sensata pages name no HVAC OEM customer or equipment model; that does not prove category-wide absence

The Trane Choice 96 page describes Trane’s heat-exchanger design but does not name an outside completed-assembly supplier. One product page can’t support an industry-wide finding about whether brands make or outsource coils and heat exchangers, so this article publishes no general supplier map for those assemblies.

One more wrinkle worth knowing: an OEM can change an approved supplier by capacity, refrigerant generation, serial range, or production revision without changing the family name. Variable-speed compressors, ECM motors, electronic expansion valves, and communicating controls can also depend on proprietary firmware, torque tables, sensors, harnesses, and control logic. A familiar supplier logo on a part doesn’t guarantee an independent technician can drop in a generic replacement and keep every feature working.

How do you protect long-term repairability?

Six questions cover it. Ask the contractor quoting either system:

  1. Which compressor type and exact part are used at the quoted capacity?
  2. Does a failed motor or control require factory programming, or is an OEM-authorized universal replacement available?
  3. Which communicating features disappear with a conventional thermostat?
  4. Can the distributor supply the compressor, inverter, blower module, A2L sensor, and main control board locally?
  5. Will the warrantor or authorized servicer confirm in writing that a qualified universal replacement can be used without affecting coverage?
  6. Which component facts come from the exact model and serial range, rather than a supplier catalog?

Shared specialist parts can make a system easier to repair. They remain component-overlap evidence, not a rebadge verdict or a complete quality score.

How should you compare two sister-brand HVAC quotes?

Ask both contractors for the same written record. A quote that says only “3-ton Trane” or “high-efficiency Carrier” isn’t specific enough to verify a rated match or an equipment relationship, and a contractor who won’t write down model numbers has told you something.

How should you compare two sister-brand HVAC quotes?
Quote field What it establishes
Complete outdoor model and serial/date code The model may identify family, capacity, voltage, options, and design series; the serial/date code may still be needed for engineering revision
Complete coil, air-handler, and furnace models The indoor equipment and the actual system match
Thermostat or communicating control Control capability and included accessories
Active AHRI Certified Reference Number Certified ratings for the complete listed combination
Manufacturer limited warranty Included coverage, registration, transfer, exclusions, and unit-replacement provisions
Dealer labor agreement Who pays diagnosis and labor after a covered failure
Separately purchased service contract Added contractual coverage, which the FTC distinguishes from the included warranty
Load calculation and proposed capacity Whether both contractors designed around the same measured house load
Permit, electrical, drain, duct, and accessory scope Work included in one price and omitted from another
Startup measurements Measured startup conditions, such as airflow/static pressure, temperature split, electrical readings, and refrigerant-charge verification, checked against manufacturer procedures. ENERGY STAR quality installation

Once you have both quotes in writing, match the situation to its editorial label and act accordingly:

  • Issuer-mapped common product designation: compare capacity, suffix, indoor match, warranty, installation, support, availability, financing, and price. The mapping does not establish the physical manufacturer.
  • Company-stated common named platform: verify the exact revisions and decide whether the documented feature or service difference earns the premium. The platform statement does not establish identical parts or the physical manufacturer.
  • Co-documented models: request a manufacturer cross-reference or parts/service evidence before calling them equivalent.
  • Publisher-inferred counterpart candidates: treat the relationship as a research lead, not a settled sales claim.
  • Ownership only or unverified: compare the products on their own specifications and support.

Who is responsible for this research?

Trusted Heating & Air Conditioning LLC is the publisher. BBB identifies the LLC as founded in May 2022 and identifies Brad Garrett as owner/operator. Trusted attributes more than 20 years of HVAC experience to its owner. BBB profile

The company operates under Texas Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor license TACLA152199C, shown as active through June 10, 2027 in the official TDLR license dataset checked July 11, 2026. TDLR license dataset Readers can also verify a license through TDLR. Licensing, credentials, and service area are on the about page.

A few things this article does not claim: that manufacturers reviewed it, that the publisher has no commercial relationships, or that every source is independent. Manufacturer records are used because they are often the controlling evidence for model numbers and product statements. The directory does not state which brands Trusted sells, installs, services, or has distributor relationships with because those facts have not been supplied for this review. Those omissions limit the conflict disclosure and should be considered before national publication.

If you want help comparing two bids, type the complete outdoor, indoor, furnace, and control model numbers into the contact form. If you refer to proposal documents, redact your name, address, account numbers, financing details, signatures, and any other personal information. The page does not promise that the form supports file uploads.

What are the research limits and correction process?

No manufacturer contact or response is claimed. The manufacturer-response log pre-registers unresolved claims and planned questions; every entry is marked not contacted. A missing response, refusal, or silence would not prove or disprove a relationship.

Primary sources can contain marketing language, stale collateral, or silently updated pages. Technical PDFs with document numbers and dates got more weight than undated consumer pages. Where the audits conflicted, this version uses the narrower claim.

Spotted an error? Submit a correction through the contact form with the consumer brand, complete model, capacity, suffix, serial/date range, disputed claim ID, and a manufacturer technical record, warranty, transaction filing, certification record, or other primary source. Type the evidence URL and redact personal information. Trusted has not published a guaranteed response time.

Change log

Change log
Version Date Claim IDs Change Reason
1.0 July 11, 2026 Initial set First canonical draft Consolidated three writer candidates and initial fact audits
2.0 July 11, 2026 Directory and all model claims Split owner, license, manufacturer, and warrantor fields; added coverage manifest, evidence cards, Midea, MARS brands, Airtemp, Thermal Zone, Ecoer; corrected Trane co-listing, Rheem parent, one-phase RA15AY evidence, GREE source, and publisher credentials Three independent adversarial reviews found relationship conflation, coverage gaps, and non-entailing citations
2.1 pre-publication July 11, 2026 Round 2 directory, evidence, and governance claims Added GENERAL/Fujitsu, Evcon, Mitsubishi Electric, LG, Samsung, and TOSOT; corrected Airtemp roles and dates; added typed relationship edges, model edges, unresolved-claim register, human signoff, and commercial-conflict templates Round 2 audits found missing qualifying brands, source-scope defects, and incomplete publication controls
2.2 pre-publication July 11, 2026 Round 3 provenance and schema claims Rebuilt field-level edge provenance; null-normalized unknowns; aligned predicate vocabulary; added atomic ICP and York records; corrected GENERAL and Airtemp scope; reconciled nine model claims Round 3 audits found machine-readable provenance, vocabulary, and model-set defects despite conservative article prose
2.2 correction July 11, 2026 TOSOT equipment edge; Blueridge warranty metadata; brand index; Napoleon control; model-set wording Separated positive TOSOT product availability from its sister-model limit; corrected Blueridge metadata; removed duplicate relationship prose from brand index records; narrowed Napoleon control; clarified model concept-set alignment Round 4 source audit found two edge/provenance issues, one PDF metadata typo, and two machine-readability wording risks
2.3 pre-publication July 11, 2026 Historical Trane/American Standard and component-sourcing claims Added dated historical relationship evidence, two bounded historical model records, component evidence classes, supplier facts, market-share unknowns, and homeowner repairability questions New research closed the gap between corporate ownership, historical product overlap, and shared component supply without promoting universal sameness claims
2.3.1 pre-publication July 11, 2026 Historical attribution, 2016 CPSC wording, 2025 recall safety, Copeland attribution, component scope, and evidence-class labels Bounded the third-party dealer account; replaced counterpart wording with literal row alignment; added CPSC safety action; attributed Copeland from the first clause; aligned visible class codes; removed two category-wide negative records Three v2.3 audits found extraction and source-scope risks in otherwise bounded evidence
2.3.2 pre-publication July 11, 2026 2025 recall population and third-party-account disclosure Restricted the post-remedy buying takeaway to the CPSC-listed model and serial population and disclosed the third-party account’s stated 2025 switch between the two brands’ dealer networks Three v2.3.1 audits found one sentence that could extend beyond the recall evidence; newsroom review requested the commercial perspective beside the testimony

The complete public claim ledger and fact-check record support this version.

Comparing Two Bids Right Now?

Send the complete outdoor, indoor, furnace, and control model numbers from both proposals through our contact form, and redact your name, address, and account details first. Or call and read them to us.

Send Us the Model Numbers (945) 333-4822

(945) 333-4822